Skip to content

The Nordkap 476 – {part 38}

June 29, 2011

With the last build log,  you got to see the start of the aft deck railing assembly.   I had run out of .032 brass rod and was waiting for more.   this afternoon, the wife wanted to go have a look at the new store that opened up in the same plaza as Hobbytown, USA……it’s called Hobby Lobby.   it’s a combination of a craft store and a hobby shop……after a browse,  I don’t see it as too much of a threat to Hobbytown……they seem too diverse.   they do carry brass rod, but did not have what I needed,  although I noticed that they carry the netting material that I was looking for.   I can see that this is going to be a “one stop” plaza for me.   I asked my wife if we could stop by the hobby store,  so I could see if they got any brass rod in.   I was quite pleased to see that they did!!   I bought three packages {15 one foot rods}….and then I couldn’t wait to get home.

Once we were settled,  I started to work on the Nordkap,  aiming towards the completion of the railings.  I had made sure that I had enough of those hooks that I had made on hand for it…..there is a section on each side of the ship that is removable,  to enable the launching of the life boat.

At each end that the removable railings were to go,  they  had to end off with an eye let.   as you could see in an earlier picture,  I had already tied off the permanent end of the ropes on the starboard side…..the other ends are to have the hooks to attach at the opposite end of the span.   the aft light has already been cemented on as well.   when the ends of the joining rails were bent to meet the other railings, they were cemented into place as well.   the removable rope railings were added next.

When the railings were completed, other aspects were added to the build……like the life rafts and the vents.   the vents were a solid brass stack,  a small cut-away area,  with a dome over it.   I painted the cut-away flat black,  and trimmed a piece of the netting to fit inside.   wrapping the strip of netting two or three times, it was cemented into place.   the main part of the stack was painted white,  and the dome was painted copper,  which gave them a bit of detail.   after they were dry, they too were cemented into place.   I had also made up the aft communications mast parts from brass rod,  and fitted parts for the life boat’s mast and boom.   I went out on a limb here,  and cut a corner from the sail material from the Gothenborg kit,  to make a sail for it as well…..here is the template I drew up.

the mast parts will also have blocks attached to them.   I’m going to border the sail with thread and fold it up,  stowing it inside the lifeboat.   after the mast parts are stowed onto the lifeboat, it will be complimented with a couple rope coils.   I will end the session here with a few parting shot of the Nordkap,  as  it stands at this point of the build.   it’s getting closer and closer to the end of the build.   ninety-nine percent of the original Nordkap parts are in the build at this point…….just a couple more and a few left-over ideas,  are all that’s left.     AHOY!!!

From → build log

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment