Skip to content

The Nordkap 476 – {part 41}

July 1, 2011

I had started the tables a few build logs ago.    there are two of them.    I used the stain that I had made up for the fish box to give them color and bring out the wood grain.   Instead of using mahogany to wrap around the edges,   I simply painted them red.   then they were given two coats of semi-gloss lacquer.    when they were dry,  I fashioned some brass rod to simulate the mechanisms,  painting them gray……..then the underside was painted with lacquer as well.   the way I had set up the rigging,   made it illogical to put them where the plans said to put them,  so I chose alternate locations for them.

the next thing I had to do,   was those pillars toward the front of the aft wall.    shrinkage had affected quite a few of the parts……these pillars did not quite touch the top rails.   the brackets that support the aft deck had to be relocated as well,  because they did not fit under the aft plate that the deck sits on.    I cemented on an extra strip of wood and located them along the outer edge of the aft deck.   to clean these areas up,  they required a bit of filler……to be sanded and then painted.

Starting with the starboard side {the lesser of the two problems},  I fitted a piece of wood to aide in bringing out the pillar flush with the bracket.   I had used a strip of 0.7×5 mahogany {painted the same color as the top rail} to create a molding around the bottom of the aft wall skin.   I got a small piece of this wood,  shaped it and created a molding for it as well.  here’s how it looks.

the end result picture is a bit dark…….but you can see how the molding line follows the same pattern.    The port side however,   was a bit more difficult.   the gap here was even wider,  which required a small piece of wood to be fitted in,  to cover the span and enable me to cement in another piece of wood to bring this pillar out in the same manner.   I save all of the cast-off wood just in cases like this…….I can use the same type of wood.   after this patch was dry,   the repair went on the same as the other side.

when this was painted and dry,   the cover molding was made and installed,  painting it the same color as the top rail.

as said in an earlier build log,   a band was also cemented around the top edge to clean that up as well.   molding can be your friend…….if not used,  you could end up with a build riddled with separation lines…EWWWWWWW!  in other builds of this ship that I have seen……the worst areas of this are between the housing assemblies and the deck.   I did the same for the Cux,  as I did for this build……I created a well for the housing to sit in,  eliminating the planking in these areas in order to do this.   beware!!!   it must be tight,  or you will get the reverse effect!      AHOY!!!

From → build log

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment