Skip to content

The Nordkap 476 – {part 39}

July 1, 2011

Nearing the end of the build,   all I could think of,  was what I had left to do.    I figured that I would start with the top railings, seeing that I now had the brass rod and stanchions to do it.   I had also given some thought of incorporating grab handles to the railings,  so they would meet the ladders on both sides of the rear cabin.

After I had the two front parts assembled,   the elongated rails were then bent outward,  and the curved down and around to meet the ladders.   care was taken her to be sure that they were alike.

The holes were already drilled for the opposite rails,  made in the same manner as the front pair.   they too, had the elongated rail that would be fashioned down and around to meet the ladders.   care was taken here as well,  to be sure that they were the same as the front railings.

When I was certain that they matched up,   they were cemented into place.

Then I remembered something……..I had not done anything for the bow ladder.  that was an easy thing to do……a couple of cuts here,  and a few bends there…….and I came up with a perfect pair!

the next aspect that I embellished on,  was the life boat.  I had made the mast and the boom.    after fitting some eye bolts to them,  I fastened some blocks to them.  they were then painted and set aside to dry.   I had made a template of the sail that I wanted to include…….I snipped a corner of the sail material for the Gothenborg to make it. {I hope that I didn’t mess up the sail layout for the Goth}    after it was cut to size,  I bordered it with thread and folded it up,  so it would fit into the life boat.   after I fitted all this into the boat,   I made up a couple of rope coils to complete the embellishment.

With the next build log………I touch on the ball and the communication line……I’m a little out of order here

AHOY!!!

From → build log

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment